Academic Board

The Academic Board of the University of Divinity is constituted by Regulation 2 of the Council, as required by the University of Divinity Act 1910.

As the body with oversight of academic affairs, Academic Board has primary responsibility for rigorous debate and discussion about the determination of academic strategy and the formulation of academic policy at the University.

The Chair of Academic Board is elected by Academic Board, and is an ex-officio member of the University Council. The present Chair is the Reverend Associate Professor Frank Rees (2017- ).

The membership includes the chief academic officer of each College of the University, four elected academic staff, two elected students (one coursework, one research), the Vice-Chancellor, and four Directors from the Office of the Vice-Chancellor.

Committees of Academic Board

Much of the work of Academic Board is conducted by its standing Committees. Terms of Reference for these Committees are found in the Determinations to Regulation 2.

  • Academic Promotions Committee
  • Academic Quality and Standards Committee
  • Academic Resources Committee
  • Learning and Teaching Committee
  • Library Committee
  • Research Committee
  • Student Services Committee.